A brief hiatus

I made it to Chile!I have decided to take a break from teaching Spanish in the US to try teaching English abroad. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a really long time – ever since I returned from my year-long study abroad experience in Spain (‘04-05). I always knew I would live abroad again, I just couldn’t decide when. I’ve been fortunate to teach at some great schools in NC and NYC. It was really hard to leave the last one – I will never forget my Leaders community but, luckily, my co-workers there are now my friends for life.

In addition to my undergrad degree in teaching Spanish, I also have a master’s in TESOL – so I figured what better way to get experience teaching ESL than going abroad to do it? After many months of contemplating on where (in Latin America of course!) to live and sending out resumes, Chile called to me first. I got a job offer to teach adults at an institute called Dynamic English in Santiago. It will be a world of difference from teaching high school, but I am ready for the challenge (and the break). That said, I know I will definitely return to it someday. I love teaching high school – even though it is one of the toughest jobs in the world.

I’m very excited to start this next chapter of my life. Santiago seems pretty cool so far…cold, actually, because it’s winter here. I haven’t explored much – just walked around a bit to get to know my surroundings and purchase items I couldn’t fit in my suitcase. I also met a friend from Brooklyn that is going to be working at the same school as me. (Small world!) I’m staying at Hostal Providencia until I find the perfect apartment. This is a great hostel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Santiago. Though, as much as I have loved the hostels I’ve stayed in abroad, I am very eager to have my own space in this city.

La clase de espanol
La clase de español! Last year’s students doing their roundtable presentations.
Leaders friends
My Leaders family at the Boecktista wedding.
IMG_6753
Preparing for landing in Santiago de Chile.
IMG_6764
Walking around Providencia
IMG_6762
Walking to Centro Santiago

It’s been a few years since my last blog post. I’m going to make an effort to blog once a week or every couple weeks during my time here. I may even post a few throw-back travel experiences here and there if the spirits move me. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “A brief hiatus

Leave a Reply

